PURITO Snail All In One BB cleanser

I got the PURITO Snail BB cleanser as part of a bundle of products that eopenmarket.com sent for me for review. The PURITO brand, I was told is a new one, recently launched on the market of K-beauty products. The cleanser came together with two tubes of BB cream and a generous selection of samples.

eopenmarket Purito bundle

eopenmarket Purito bundle

The cleanser comes in a 250 ml plastic bottle with a dispensing pump which makes it easy to use. I find that a single pump is enough for one use.

IMAG0156

The claims this product makes: It is as a cleanser which combines the two steps that make up a double cleansing routine: oil cleanser and foaming or any other type of cleanser that can follow it.

The ingredients:

The cleanser features snail secretion filtrate relatively high on its ingredient list (5th). While I am not sure much benefit is to be made from any great ingredient in a product that stays in contact with the skin for a very short time and is then washed away, it feels kind of reassuring to see the little hero of  k-beauty products, snail-trailing its path through this product as well.

Betaine which the product description says is a natural moisturizing agent extracted from sugar beet and providing skin with elasticity and lustre.

Abunch of extracts, credited with skin soothing, moisturizing, elasticity boosting properties: Camelia Sinesis Leaf Extract, Centella Asiatica Extract, Ginko Biloba Leaf Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract.

The product is a 10-free formulation and the description lists the potential irritants missing from the cleanser as: parabens, mineral oils, paraffin, colorants, ethanol, triethanolamine, benzophenone, phthalates, formaldehyde, BHT.

IMAG0161

I ran the ingredient list through COSDNA and two of the ingredients Sodium Laureth Sulfate and Sodium Lauryl Sulfate surfaced as potential acne triggers. I checked these on Paula Begoun’s site too and the first one – Sodium Laureth Sulfate – she lists among the GOOD cleansing agents. I don’t have acne issues and this cleanser has so far worked really well for me but I thought I should give the warning sign. Here is a link to the cosdna analysis page of the product 
I also checked some of the ingredents cosdna alerted about on paula’s choice site and for instance, she says that methylisothiazolinone should be avoided in leave-on products but since this is a cleanser, I think it should be safe to use.  Plus – this ingredient is right at the bottom of the ingredient list.

Product Performance:

The cleanser itself is of a pure gel-type consistence. It has a very refreshing green smell which I like a lot. The instruction on the box says to apply this on a dry face, wait a couple of minutes, massage, then – rinse with water. I tried both this way of using it as well as my regular way with foaming cleansers where I use it after a few splashes of water on my face. The lather produced at contact with water and massaging is really quite thin – something I’ve learned to like. In my opinion the cleanser does live up to its promise as a product that combines the two steps of double cleansing. A couple of times I swiped my face with a cleansing toner after using the Purito gel and there was no trace of residual makeup on the cotton ds

IMAG0166

 

One very good thing about this cleanser is that it has a neutral PH 5.5 which makes it perfect for my skincare routine. Since I started reading up on skin care I’ve learned that a ph of 5.5 – 6 is the limit for a cleanser not to be too harsh on the skin. I usually follow cleansing with an AHA treatment, or a vitamin C serum, or a retinol treatment so I make sure my skin has the reight ph to allow for these products optimal performance. I also love the fact that the peoduct description explicitly states what the ph of the cleanser is. I have not yet reached the point of committment where I buy ph measuring strips to check products myself so I’m really thankful when a manufacturer adds this important information to product descritions.

Conclusion: I have to say I have been very happy with the performance of this product. It works very well as a cleanser and it has not caused any irritation on my skin. Would I purchase this product after finishing this bottle. It is highly likely that I do. Not only I but my daughter has also been very satisfied with it.

Where can you buy this cleanser: eopenmarket.com offers this, as well as other PURITO products, on its website. Right now the PURITO Snail All In One BB cleanser can be purchased at the reduced price of $12.80

Disclaimer: I did not pay for this product. It was generously offered to me for review by eopenmarket but the fact has by no means influenced my approach to reviewing and I have tried to remain as objective as possible in my response.

 

purito_bbcleanser_600

 

 

2 thoughts on “PURITO Snail All In One BB cleanser

Leave a Reply

