INNISFREE Second Skin Mask Lift-up

The Innisree Second Skin Mask Lift-up is one of the five Innisfree masks from the brand’s Second Skin range of sheet masks. The other 4 masks are: 1.Anti-trouble, 2.Brightening, 3.Moisture and 4.Nourishing.  I won this mask as part of a giveaway hosted by the lovely Cassandra, author of the Crazy Beautfil blog , sometime in mid-October. Included in the giveaway were the Innisfree Cleansing Foam (full size) which I tried but then gave to my teenage daughter as it suits her skin needs better; two Innisfree Second Skin masks – the Moisture  and the Lift-up version; two 4ml samples of the much raved about  Innisfree Jeju volcanic pore clay mask.

20141125_152331

 

I only reached for the Lift-up mask today as I feel the coolness given by sheet masks is something to seek in summer only. My curiousity got the better of me so I opened the pack after having made sure it had stayed for about half an hour in horizontal position to make sure the serum got evenly spread on the tissue. Taking the mask out I also sligtly pressed it to make some of the serum stay in the pack – I don’t like the feeling of the mask dripping from my face but I’ve also found out that whenever I’ve used a sheet mask a lot of the serum stays on it or does not get absorbed into my skin even if I’ve left it for more than half an hour on my face. Honestly, I don’t think a 20ml amount of serum is going to sink into the skin at one go.

20141125_152420

The pictures on the back of the pack are quite detailed so even though the text is not English it’s hard to misinterpret the instructions on the manner of application.

 

The sheet mask comes placed between two very thin nets the purpose of which I cannot guess. There may be an explanatory note on the pack but since it’s not in English I cannot read it. To put the mask on you have to first peel one of the nets, place the mask on your face – the thin membrane it actually is fits completely, indeed like a second skin – and then peel the other net layer.

20141125_152435

The two netted layers between which the mask is placed

 

The feeling of having this mask on is one of immediate cooling of the skin. I think it was at that moment that I realised what the -5 C printed on the package meant , namely that it makes the surface skin temperature drop by 5 C. I have not yet found out if that is indeed what happen or if it’s just a feeling of coolness caused by the mask’s ingredients. I was actually able to find those and have copied them off the official Innisfree site 

WATER, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, ALCOHOL, GLYCERETH-26, HYDROLYZED COLLAGEN, BACILLUS/SOYBEAN FERMENT EXTRACT, NELUMBO NUCIFERA FLOWER EXTRACT, PRUNUS MUME FRUIT EXTRACT, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, DIETHOXYETHYL SUCCINATE, GLYCERYL POLYMETHACRYLATE, PEG-60 HYDROGENATED CASTOR OIL, PHENYL TRIMETHICONE, HYDROXYETHYL ACRYLATE/SODIUM ACRYLOYLDIMETHYL TAURATE COPOLYMER, CARBOMER, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, PROPANEDIOL, GLYCERIN, DISODIUM EDTA, POTASSIUM HYDROXIDE, CITRIC ACID, LACTIC ACID, FRAGRANCE

My overall impression from this mask: well, I loved the effect this had on my skin. It left my skin feeling very hydrated and yes, it plumped it up so well it did feel like the mask has a lifting effect. The latter is of course temporary but it would be unrealistic to expect anything more from a single use.
All in all, I’ve found this a wonderful mask and I would buy more of these. I am aware thatthe presence of alcohol in the mask may put some people off it but I have had no issues with alcohol in cosmetics so far.

20141125_152627

May not be the most appealing picture but shows how well the thin mask membrane sticks to the skin.

 

Finally, I am sharing a picture of the little 7ml jar left from some cosmetic sample in which I have stored the remaining mask serum. I love it, for not leaving any sticky feeling on use, it has fitds in neatly with my skinscare routine

20141125_152505

The Innisfree Secon Skin Lift-up Mask can be ordered for $5 on the Innisfree site

Leave a Reply

